HOW IS YOUR LIFE IMPACTING OTHERS?

How Is Your Life Impacting Others?

As Believers and Kingdom Ambassadors, we need to be ever mindful that our lives are constantly on display to others, and whether we like it or not, our choice of actions and words either draw people toward Jesus or push them away from Him.  

This is a very sobering reality.

Here’s a poem I wrote that speaks about the damaging effects our behavior can have on those who have yet to receive Jesus Christ as their Savior and Lord. It has quite a bit of Bahamian dialect, so I hope you can understand those parts (smile!).

May it serve as a reminder to us of the importance of walking circumspectly so that our lives bring glory and not reproach to the name of Christ and the Kingdom of God.

To You Christian

  Hi young man, can we take a walk,

I’m a Christian and I’d really like to talk.

 

 Well Miss, you really wan know what I tink,

Y’all so-called Christian people like to carry on stink.

 

One fella I work wit say he saved and sanctified,

But I truly never see someone who could tell more lie.

 

Ma neighbor next door she testify bout how she straight,

But all hours of der night fellas in and out her gate.

 

One cousin I have stay speakin in tongues,

But she don’t speak to her own Ma, you can’t tell me dat ain’t wrong.

 

Den the pastor on the corner, what confusion and strife,

If he ain beatin up his children, he beatin up his wife.

 

I gone to one church an say, lemma try to fit,

When I turn round, the people row, fight, and split.

 

So Miss to tell you der truth with all respect you see,

Ain no Christian people could say nuttin to me.

 

Young man she said, I can’t argue with you,

Sadly what you said about many Christians is true.

 

But don’t be blinded by the calamity, confusion, and strife,

It doesn’t change the fact that Jesus is the Way, the Truth and the Life.

 

So come on young man give Him your heart,

Now you’ve seen what not to do, you will have a better start.

 

“ I therefore, the prisoner for the Lord, appeal to and beg you to walk (lead a life) worthy of the [divine] calling to which you have been called [with behavior that is a credit to the summons to God’s service..]”

(Ephesians 4:1 – Amplified Bible)

 

“If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.”

(I John 1:9 – KJV)

 

“Jesus answered, I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.”

(John 14:6 – NIV)

 

 Copyright © 2010 by Kim, Author of “Unwalled” Blog, All rights reserved.

