30 POWER-BOOSTING NUGGETS FROM MY FIERY TRIAL – PART TWO (NUGGETS 6-10)

NUGGETS FROM MY FIERY TRIAL – PART TWO (NUGGETS 6-10)

Fiery Trial

On March 3rd, 2009 I contracted a flu which took me from a place of being a healthy, active, person to a place of among other things:-

  •  not having the strength to talk or walk for any normal length of time. 
  •  not being able to travel in or drive a car without my body going ballistic. 
  • having a multiplicity of unexplained symptoms in my body.
  • having doctors baffled at what was going on with my body and not knowing exactly what to diagnose. 
  • a visit to the valley of the shadow of death. 
  • a more than 2 year journey to recovery along a dark path fraught with physical, mental, and emotional suffering and up close and personal spiritual warfare.  

IF IT WERE NOT FOR THE GRACE OF GOD, I WOULD NOT BE HERE.

I truly thank and praise God firstly for who He is to me and secondly for what He has done for me.

I also thank Him for each person He worked through to help get me to where I am today and I thank those persons too.

My purpose is not to get into the nitty-gritty details of the fiery trial that I walked through, but to share some of the nuggets that I gleaned from that season of testing to encourage, comfort and strengthen those of you who are in a fiery trial, and to help prepare those of you who may encounter a fiery trial sometime in the future.

II Corinthians 1:3, 4

Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of sympathy (pity and mercy) and the God [Who is the Source] of every comfort (consolation and encouragement),

Who comforts (consoles and encourages) us in every trouble (calamity and affliction), so that we may also be able to comfort (console and encourage) those who are in any kind of trouble or distress, with the comfort (consolation and encouragement) with which we ourselves are comforted (consoled and encouraged) by God.

The following are nuggets 6-10 that I gleaned from my fiery trial.

6)  Keep in mind what God has said to you about your life and His plans and purpose for you.

Holdfast to what God has said in this regard and believe that you will come through and you will walk in and fulfill what He has declared and destined for you.

Jeremiah 29:11

“For I know the thoughts and plans that I have for you, says the Lord, thoughts and plans for welfare and peace and not for evil, to give you hope in your final outcome.” (Amplified Bible)

7)  Guard your interaction with others.

Ask God to shield you from or help you discern anyone the enemy would try to use to attack you in some way.

In as much as possible, only speak with and be in the presence of persons that God instructs you to and that you have inner-peace about interacting with.

Try to stay away from all others until God says otherwise.

Colossians 3:15

“And let the peace (soul harmony which comes) from Christ rule (act as umpire continually) in your hearts [deciding and settling with finality all questions that arise in your minds, in that peaceful state] to which as [members of Christ’s] one body you were also called [to live]. And be thankful (appreciative), [giving praise to God always].” (Amplified Bible)

8)  Accept no labels and never receive, declare or own what you are experiencing as yours when it contradicts the truth of God’s word.

Never say “I am x” or “I have x”, or “my x” – e.g., I am sick, I have diabetes, my Alzheimer’s, etc.  

Only say you are who God says you are – e.g., I am healed, I am strong, I am blessed etc.

Only say you have what God says you have – e.g., I have faith, I have health, I have the ability to do all things through Christ, etc.

Believe, declare or own nothing generated from the world, flesh or devil.

Proverbs 18:21

“Death and life are in the power of the tongue, and they who indulge in it shall eat the fruit of it [for death or life]” (Amplified Bible)

9)  Hold fast to the truth about God’s character.

The intensity of your trial is not a sign that God’s character/nature has changed.

No matter what difficulties you face in life, God is still good, holy, righteous, just, merciful, gracious, truth, love, wise, omnipresent (present everywhere), omnipotent (all-powerful), omniscient (all-knowing), sovereign, self-existent, self-sufficient, and unchanging.

Exodus 34:6

“And the Lord passed by before him, and proclaimed, The Lord! the Lord! a God merciful and gracious, slow to anger, and abundant in loving-kindness and truth,” (Amplified Bible)

Malachi 3:6

“For I am the Lord, I do not change; that is why you, O sons of Jacob, are not consumed.” (Amplified Bible)

During your time of fiery testing, God is still all that He says He is and He can still do all that He says He can do.

Hold fast to this.

10) Try not to ask God why.

God is not obligated to explain anything to us and often does not explain much during a test.

Job 23:8-10

“Behold, I go forward [and to the east], but He is not there; I go backward [and to the west], but I cannot perceive Him;

On the left hand [and to the north] where He works [I seek Him], but I cannot behold Him; He turns Himself to the right hand [and to the south], but I cannot see Him.

But He knows the way that I take [He has concern for it, appreciates, and pays attention to it]. When He has tried me, I shall come forth as refined gold [pure and luminous].” (Amplified Bible)

Instead, ask God what He desires to teach you through the experience and what He desires to build in you or remove from you, and cooperate with the working of the Holy Spirit in the transformation process.

James 1:2-4

“Consider it wholly joyful, my brethren, whenever you are enveloped in or encounter trials of any sort or fall into various temptations.

Be assured and understand that the trial and proving of your faith bring out endurance and steadfastness and patience.

But let endurance and steadfastness and patience have full play and do a thorough work, so that you may be [people] perfectly and fully developed [with no defects], lacking in nothing.” (Amplified Bible)

I pray that nuggets 6-10 from the fire have in some way encouraged, comforted and strengthened you.

Be on the alert for nuggets 11-15.

Shalom!

Kim

Copyright © 2011 by Kim, Author of “Unwalled” Blog, All rights reserved.

Image Courtesy of Fire by Idea Go /FreeDigitalPhotos.Net

