MY MOMENT OF SOLITUDE IN NASSAU ON THE WESTERN ESPLANADE

MY MOMENT OF SOLITUDE IN NASSAU ON THE WESTERN ESPLANADE

“BEACH AT WESTERN ESPLANADE”

As I sit on the Western Esplanade waiting for my son’s class to finish so that I can collect him, I observe my surroundings and enjoy the moment of solitude.

Sunbeams skip and dance across the multi-shaded crystal clear blue waters.

“BLUE WATERS”

Cotton-like clouds of varied hues, shapes and sizes drift effortlessly across the sky.

“CLOUDS”

Small waves gently lap against the seashore, advancing then retreating making music of their own.

“SMALL WAVES ON THE SHORE”

A lone sunbather lies on the sheet of white sand enduring the heat for the prize of a golden tan.

Seagulls hover overhead loudly conversing with each other, occasionally swooping down to devour scraps of food or landing to check out their surroundings.

“SEAGULLS”

A stray dog struts proudly by; tail in the air and head held high.

Tourists saunter down the promenade, smiling, talking, holding hands, laughing, drinking, eating, and enjoying the weather, sights and each other.

“TOURISTS”

A disheveled barefoot man shuffles by, head hung low avoiding any eye contact seemingly weighted down by the cares of his world.

Employees on their lunch breaks pull in to parking spaces to eat and to enjoy a piece of serenity before returning to work.

Large stately cruise ships lie docked in the harbor, overshadowing the speedboats and yachts that sail by.

“CRUISE SHIPS”

In a distance stands a lone white lighthouse, distinct and dignified, a symbol of hope and a source of direction for incoming boats.

“LIGHTHOUSE”

The nearby container port buzzes with activity, cranes steadily lifting crate after crate with trucks waiting to whisk them away.

“CONTAINER PORT”

A constant cool, fresh breeze blows gently massaging my skin…. it feels real good.

I savor the moment and thank the Lord.

I thank Him for the beauty of my county.

I thank Him for the magnificence of His creation.

I thank Him for the ability to see, hear, and feel.

I thank Him for life, health, strength and a sound mind.

I thank Him for His goodness, mercy, grace and faithfulness.

I thank Him for this present season in my life that affords me the privilege of moments like these.

As I prepare to leave to collect my son, I think to myself, it was good to have had this moment of solitude and to share it with you.

Hope you were blessed.

Shalom!

Kim

Copyright © 2012 by Kim, Author of “Unwalled” Blog, All rights reserved.

Photos Copyright © 2012 by Kim, Author of “Unwalled” Blog, All rights reserved.

5 thoughts on “MY MOMENT OF SOLITUDE IN NASSAU ON THE WESTERN ESPLANADE

  1. Thank you Pastor Jim…….and yes it is awesome…..we just need to remember to do it because the benefits to our mind, body, soul and spirit are invaluable and it costs nothing but a little of our time.

  2. Thank you……the satellite photos of our waters are phenomenal….in 2010, Astronaut Douglas Wheelock shared a photo of the Bahamas from space and tweeted “Of all the places on our glorious planet, few rival the brilliant colors of the Bahamas”……I am happy that you enjoyed the post.

Leave a Reply

