HELP AND HEALING FOR THE BROKENHEARTED

HELP AND HEALING FOR THE BROKENHEARTED

“GOD CAN HEAL YOUR BROKEN HEART”

“Heartbroken – extremely sad and upset”

www.macmillandictionary.com

“Heartbroken – overcome by sorrow”

www.merriam-webster.com

Are you extremely sad, upset, or overcome with sorrow because of a negative experience or bad situation?

I can’t believe they let me go just like that. I worked 30 years for this company. I gave it the best years of my life. I worked hard and went above and beyond the call of duty, working late into the evenings, and on many week-ends, and holidays. I anticipated and met the needs of my bosses and always exceeded their requirements and now,  just like that, they say I have to go. It’s like all my efforts over all these years meant nothing to them. It’s like I meant nothing to them. – Heartbroken Employee.

I faithfully loved my husband. I supported him and stood by him through thick and thin. I did all that I could to please him and meet his needs. I took good care of my appearance, our children and our home. I was a friend to him, a companion…..or so I thought. Yet in spite of it all,  I found out he is having an affair, and it is not the first. – Heartbroken Wife

We raised our children in the knowledge and ways of the Lord and provided everything that they needed to succeed yet our son turned to a wayward, destructive lifestyle and is now addicted to meth and our brilliant and beautiful daughter says she is pregnant, does not want to go to college anymore and is moving in with her boyfriend. –  Heartbroken Parents

No matter what I do it’s never good enough for my father. He always criticizes my efforts and finds some way to minimize my achievements. It’s as if  he has pleasure in belittling me and making me feel like less of a man. My wife, kids, colleagues, friends, and associates all accept, respect and celebrate me but not him.  How I long for him to just love, accept and celebrate me as his son…… just simply for who I am. – Heartbroken Son

I thought he loved me and wanted to be with me. He said he would honor my decision to wait until we get married to have sex but he forced himself on me and took from me what I can never get back, my virginity. I trusted him and he violated me. How could he do this? I trusted him! Now he says he does not want to continue in our relationship and won’t return my calls and there’s a new picture of him on Facebook hugging another girl.  How could he do this to me? – Heartbroken Teen Girl.

“I TRUSTED YOU”

It was a long time ago. I was just a little boy but it seems like yesterday. I knew he should not  touch me the way he did. It felt wrong, but he said it was okay and  it was our little secret. One day it turned into full-blown sex and he threatened to kill me if  told anyone or refused to do it. He continued to molest me for years until one day I could not take it anymore and took the risk and ran away. Now as man, I really want a heterosexual relationship that leads to marriage and I want to have kids, but because my past abuse something keeps drawing me to a homosexual lifestyle. This is so hard. I feel cheated. I feel like damaged goods. – Heartbroken Victim of Sexual Abuse

I trusted him with everything in the business. He was my best friend and confidant. He knew everything about the operation. I paid him well and gave him benefits above and beyond what he deserved. I can’t believe he swindled me like this. after all of these years of working so hard and making so many sacrifices to build this business, now I have nothing. – Heartbroken Businessman

My wife is the most cherished person in my life. I worked hard and provided everything for her and my children. I spent time with them and did all I could for them; I’m even known among our family, friends and community as good a husband and father, and after all of this, she left me for another man who will “make her happy”. How could this happen? I’ll never get over this! – Heartbroken Husband

After 7 years of trying we were finally pregnant. Oh the joy! Oh the excitement! We did everything we could to make sure that our baby would be fine. We kept every pre-natal appointment, ate healthy, took the recommended vitamin supplements, got proper and adequate exercise and rest, avoided exposure to any potentially harmful substances, prayed. Eight months had passed and things seemed  perfect until one morning my wife said there was no movement. We quickly made a doctor’s appointment and after evaluation, received the crushing news that our baby had died. We could not believe it. Childless again, we’re devastated. – Heartbroken Young Couple  

So many wonderful memories……birthday parties, sleep overs, family gatherings, the day we finally finished the pool, the basketball games on the driveway, cell group meetings in the great room, camping in the garden, and best of all, chatting over dinner in the kitchen…….so many wonderful memories. They are all we have left since the foreclosure. 20 years of faithfully paying our mortgage, unexpected job loss, now its all gone. What took years to acquire swept away in a matter of months…. all gone, all gone. – Heartbroken Former Homeowners.

I prayed and prayed and hoped and hoped that she was okay, but when I kept calling and she did not answer the phone, I knew something was gravely wrong. When I arrived at her house the front door was ajar and I entered slowly, feeling sick in my stomach all the while somehow knowing what I would see. As I turned the corner into the kitchen I screamed. There on the floor lay the lifeless body of my baby, her face beaten black and blue and a gunshot wound to her head. Barely able to breathe, with hands shaking, I dialed 911. My greatest nightmare had come true. My daughter was a victim of domestic violence that had escalated out of hand. I told her to leave Bill until he got some help but somehow she just couldn’t. She thought he would change. Now she is gone and my heart’s broken. – Heartbroken Mother

“IT BROKE MY HEART”

Can you identify with any of these scenarios?

Maybe your experience is different but the effect is the same, you have a broken heart.

You hurt.

You hurt in unexplainable ways; ways sometimes too deep for words.

You’ve tried to shake it, forget it, pretend it really does not matter, tell yourself you’re over it and moved on, but you know that is not true.

You hurt.

Persons in your life have no idea what is going in inside of you.

Those who know what you went through feel as if you are fine because of the passage of time, your cheerful outward appearance, gusto for life, and pursuit and accomplishment of goals………but you’re not, and you’re afraid to say or indicate otherwise.

You may feel as if you are experiencing this deep hurt all alone and that no one understands, but you know what, this is not the case.

Psalms 34:18 states:

“The Lord is close to the brokenhearted
 and saves those who are crushed in spirit.” (NIV, 1984).

Whether or not you sense His presence, in the midst of your hurt and pain, the Lord is close. He is nearby. He is not far away and unconcerned and He is touched by your feelings of brokenness because He knows what it is to experience deep pain.

Speaking of the Lord, Isaiah 53:3-5 states:

“We despised him and rejected him;
 he endured suffering and pain.
 No one would even look at him—
we ignored him as if he were nothing. But he endured the suffering that should have been ours, the pain that we should have borne. 
 All the while we thought that his suffering
 was punishment sent by God. But because of our sins he was wounded, beaten because of the evil we did.
We are healed by the punishment he suffered,
 made whole by the blows he received.” (Good News Translation – GNT)

“HE KNOWS WHAT IT WAS TO SUFFER”

Considering what He went through, you can rest assured that Jesus can identify with your suffering and pain and not only does He identify, He cares.

I Peter 5:7 states:

“Give all your worries and cares to God, for he cares about you.” ( NLT)

In the midst of your  brokeheartedness you are not alone. God is close, He understands, He cares and He knows about your sorrow and tears.

Psalms 56:8 states:

“You keep track of all my sorrows. You have collected all my tears in your bottle. You have recorded each one in your book.”  NLT)

Wow!

While all of this is good news, there is even better news. 

Jesus speaking in Luke 4;18, 19 states:

“The Spirit of the Lord is upon Me, 
Because He has anointed Me 
To preach the gospel to the poor; 
He has sent Me to heal the brokenhearted, 
To proclaim liberty to the captives
 And recovery of sight to the blind,
To set at liberty those who are oppressed; To proclaim the acceptable year of the Lord.” (NIV, 1984)

According to this scripture, one of the key assignments of Jesus is to heal the brokenhearted – Isn’t that good news!

Not only did He come to seek and save the lost (Luke 19:10), destroy the works of the devil (I John 3:8), that we may have life and have it more abundantly (John 10:10), and to preach the Kingdom of God (Luke 4:43), but also to heal the brokenhearted.

The healing of your broken heart is that important to God…….that’s amazing!

Psalms 147:3 states:

 “He heals the broken hearted and binds up their wounds.” (NIV, 1984)

The Lord heals broken hearts and your broken heart is no exception.

He can heal it too.

His healing is available for you.

 All you have to do is believe it, then by faith receive it.

Know though that sometimes this healing is instantaneous and other times it is a process; the path is up to God, not up to us. Our part is to believe and receive, and when necessary, do whatever He tells us in order for its complete manifestation.

Whatever the case, no matter how God chooses to do it, healing for your broken heart is available and it is real…….You do have to stay in your present state of emotional pain and turmoil………….I am a testimony!

So, do you believe that Jesus is able to heal your broken heart and are you ready to receive this healing?

If you are, let’s pray.

Father, you declare in your Word that healing is available for the brokenhearted so I stand on this truth and bring this brokenhearted person before you. In your sovereignty you know who they are, you know the details of their situation, and you know exactly what broke their heart. In the name of Jesus I now ask you to release your divine healing power upon them. Touch in ways that only you can touch. Mend in ways that only you can mend. Cleanse in ways that only you can cleanse. Stabilize their mind and calm their emotions. Bring peace where peace is needed, your supernatural peace. By the power of your Holy Spirit remove the deep hurt, remove the anger, remove the desire for revenge, and enable forgiveness. Empower them to release the situation and all persons, places and things associated with it to you so they can move on and truly live. Father thank you for complete healing, restoration and wholeness. Thank you for strengthening them and making them better instead of bitter. Thank you for raising them up to use what the enemy meant for evil and destruction in their life for good and construction in the lives of others. Thank you for enabling them to compassionately help other brokenhearted persons find their way to freedom. I ask these things in Jesus’ Name. Amen.

Be encouraged!

Kim

Copyright © 2012 by Kim, Author of “Unwalled” Blog, All rights reserved.

Image “DAMAGED HEART ON OLD PAPER” by Fotographic 1980 courtesy of http://www.FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image “SHOE AND ROSES” by Theeradech Sanin courtesy of http://www.FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image “GUN AND BLOOD SPLATTERS” by Simon Howden courtesy of http://www.Free.DigitalPhotos.net

Image “ACTING OUT A CRUCIFIXION AT EASTER” by Stuart Miles courtesy of www.Free.DigitalPhotos.net

2 thoughts on “HELP AND HEALING FOR THE BROKENHEARTED

Leave a Reply

