T. D. JAKES – LET THEM WALK & THE GIFT OF GOODBYE

LET THEM WALK

This afternoon I listened to the first CD in a message series by Bishop T. D. Jakes called “Nothing Just Happens” and he said some powerful words about how to respond when people walk out of our lives.

I found a clip of this portion of his sermon on Youtube…….watch and be blessed.

 

The following is an excerpt written by Bishop Jakes along the same lines……..be blessed!

THE GIFT OF GOODBYE – BY T. D. JAKES

"THE GIFT OF GOODBYE"

“THE GIFT OF GOODBYE”

There are people who can walk away from you. And hear me when I tell you this! When people can walk away from you: let them walk.

I don’t want you to try to talk another person into staying with you, loving you, calling you, caring about you, coming to see you, staying attached to you. I mean hang up the phone. When people can walk away from you let them walk. Your destiny is never tied to anybody that left.

The Bible said that, they came out from us that it might be made manifest that they were not for us. For had they been of us, no doubt they would have continued with us. [1 John 2:19]

People leave you because they are not joined to you. And if they are not joined to you, you can’t make them stay.

LET THEM GO!!!

And it doesn’t mean that they are a bad person it just means that their part in the story is over. And you’ve got to know when people’s part in your story is over so that you don’t keep trying to raise the dead.

YOU’VE GOT TO KNOW WHEN IT’S DEAD.

You’ve got to know when it’s over. Let me tell you something. I’ve got the gift of good-bye. It’s the tenth spiritual gift, I believe in good-bye. It’s not that I’m hateful, it’s that I’m faithful, and I know whatever God means for me to have He’ll give it to me. And if it takes too much sweat I don’t need it. Stop begging people to stay.

LET THEM GO!!!

If you are holding on to something that doesn’t belong to you and was never intended for your life, then you need to . . . . . . . .

LET IT GO!!!

If you are holding on to past hurts and pains . . . . . . . . .

LET IT GO!!!

If someone can’t treat you right, love you back, and see your worth . . . . . . . .

LET IT GO!!!

If someone has angered you . . . . . . . .

LET IT GO!!!

If you are holding on to some thoughts of evil and revenge . . . . . . . .

LET IT GO!!!

If you are involved in a wrong relationship or addiction . . . . . . . .

LET IT GO!!!

If you are holding on to a job that no longer meets your needs or talents . . . . . . . . .

LET IT GO!!!

If you have a bad attitude . . . . . . . .

LET IT GO!!!

If you keep judging others to make yourself feel better . . . . . . . .

LET IT GO!!!

If you’re stuck in the past and God is trying to take you to a new level in Him . . . . . . . .

LET IT GO!!!

If you are struggling with the healing of a broken relationship . . . . . . . .

LET IT GO!!!

If you keep trying to help someone who won’t even try to help themselves . . . . . . . .

LET IT GO!!!

If you’re feeling depressed and stressed . . . . . . . .

LET IT GO!!!

If there is a particular situation that you are so used to handling yourself and God is saying “take your hands off of it,” then you need to . . . . . . . .

LET IT GO!!!

Let the past be the past Forget the former things. GOD is doing a new thing for 2012!!!

LET IT GO!!!

Get Right or Get Left. think about it, and then . . . . . . . .

LET IT GO!!!

By, Bishop T. D. Jakes

Photo “Gift Box With Silver Ribbon Bow” by Master Isolated Images courtesy of http://www.freedigitalphotos.net

Video “LET Them WALK” by T. D. Jakes courtesy of ladyjewelsforever, http://www.youtube.com

32 thoughts on “T. D. JAKES – LET THEM WALK & THE GIFT OF GOODBYE

  1. Great thoughts. As always, I enjoyed your post. On another note, I noticed your live traffic feed on the right. The one for me has the right name for my neighborhood of my city, but it has the wrong province name. Just funny. 🙂

  2. You’re welcome and thanks!……..it was my first shot at participating in a chain story and I enjoyed it; it’ll be interesting to see how the story unfolds…:)

  3. Thanks David!…….I found the way Bishop Jakes addressed the issue very powerful and inspirational……..re: the live feed, in this “wanna be perfect” cyber world, we can always count on glitches somewhere……..:)

  4. Hi David……I and grateful and humbled that my blog has become such a source of encouragement in your life. Thanks for nominating me for the Leibster Blog Award, I am honored…….hey, I knew nothing about the award until your nomination which prompted a little research…..hope your eleven questions aren’t too difficult……:)……..also, hope I can find 11 blogs I’m familiar enough with and that meet the criteria to pass the award along…….:o)

  5. Reblogged this on LightWriters and commented:
    Do you have a hard time letting go and moving on? Get a great word from Bishop T.D. Jakes, courtesy of unwalled.wordpress.com….And ‘Let Them Walk!’

  6. What a powerful message! This is such a forward and encouraging message to the people. Bishop Jakes is on it. I pray that those who need this word receive it and apply it…. with that said, it’s all of us because we have been down one or some of these roads before in our lives.

    God bless you! So thankful your post was reblogged. It was a well received blessing this morning.

    ~Terra

  7. Hi Susan…….glad that the message from T. D. Jakes in my post was a blessing to you…..it definitely blessed me and that’s why I posted it. Thanks for reblogging it so that the transformational power in it can be passed on even further…..Have a great day!…..Kim

  8. Hi Terra….yes that message from Bishop Jakes is powerful, encouraging, and transformational…..it definitely blessed me when I heard it and that is why I decided to do the post in the hope that it will get to and bless others…..like you…..:)…..have a great day!….Kim

  9. Thanks so much Kim. You have a great blog and focus on encouragement. Adding you to my blogrool and look forward to following. 🙂

  10. Thanks Susan!……… I’m still running through all my blog admin stuff and just noticed how many of my posts were a blessing to you and that you decided to follow “Unwalled”; I am truly honored and pray that my posts encourage, edify and inspire you in 2013 and beyond……Shalom!….Kim

  11. Very truth filled message! Happy that Susan reblogged this. I like your blog very much! In the mid 1970’s my husband and our 3 small children worked a ministry on Cat Island. I have a very special place in my heart for the people of the Bahamas.
    Looking through some of your posts I am encouraged!
    Be blessed as you bless others in the Body!
    Stephanie

  12. Hi Stephanie…..thank you so much!….I am happy that my blog is a blessing to you; that encourages me…:) and thanks also for deciding to follow it; I am truly honored. May God bless you and your husband for the seeds planted through your ministry in Cat Island and for keeping a special place in your heart for the people of the Bahamas……since I’m a Bahamian, that includes me…:) Our nation, like all others, is very different from back then; please remember it in your prayers. Shalom!…Kim

  13. Hi Joseyphina…..thanks for stopping by “Unwalled” and choosing to follow; I’m truly honored. I’m happy that this post was an inspiration to you….hope you are blessed by many more.

  14. Yes me too…I’ve listened to him and watched him for years and I truly thank God for the part he has played in my spiritual and personal growth and development…..;)

  15. T.D Jakes your words make me feel alive,u inspire me and u make me believe that what was not meant for you…it will never be yours

  16. Hi Kim,
    I book mark this so I can listen to it anytime. I needed this message. My girlfriend of eight years broke up with me about a year ago and I see her at several places and it is hard but this message is the answer. Thank you

  17. Hi Trevor….breakups can be tough stuff……I’m happy that the message is a now word for you to help you get through this season of your life…..with God’s help and the application of the wisdom in Bishop Jakes message, I believe you will…..Shalom!…and thanks for stopping by….:)

Comments are closed.