BEWARE OF PRIDE

BEWARE OF PRIDE

 

"BEWARE OF PRIDE"

“BEWARE OF PRIDE”

 

Are you bound by pride?

 

Do you think more highly of yourself than you ought to?

Do you look down on others because you believe that you are in some way better than they?

Is there a particular action that the Spirit of God is calling you to take yet you resist because you believe you know a better way?

Is there a person in your life whose advice you know you should take yet you resist?

Is there an apology you know you need to make, forgiveness you know you need to ask for, a fault you know you need to confess yet you refuse?

Is there help you need but would not ask for?

 

Proverbs 16:18 states:

“Pride goes before destruction, a haughty spirit before a fall.”

Selah!

The following poem is a reminder that pride can be a destructive force in our lives that yields many negative consequences.

I originally posted it in April of 2010 and thought I’d post it again.

Blessings!

Kim

Who am I?

I am so powerful yet I am so sly

I play you like a fool so you hold your high.

 

Through me you despise others looking at them down your nose

Through me you speak ill about and make fun of their clothes.

 

I am the force who makes you sit still and falter

When the Spirit of God bids you come to the altar.

 

I subtly whisper “you’re always right”

So you ignore all advice to my utter delight.

 

I urge “don’t say sorry”, “don’t apologize”

And you foolishly listen to your demise.

 

Hey hide all your problems keep them safe and sound

That’s how I know you’ll definitely remain bound.

 

Rely on yourself you don’t need help to do it

Ha! – Now you’re flat on your face, wow you’re so stupid!

 

You hearken to me at my every call and beck

Good! – That empowers me to keep my foot on your neck.

 

Okay, I’ll reveal myself no longer will I hide

I’m a stronghold in your life my name is pride.

 

 

“God opposes the proud but gives grace to the humble.”

James 4:6 (NIV)

 

“For everyone who exalts himself will be humbled, and he who humbles himself will be exalted.”

Luke 14:11 (NIV)

 

Humble yourselves before the Lord, and he will lift you up.

James 4:10 (NIV)

 

 

Copyright © 2013 by Kim Sweeting, Author of “Unwalled” Blog, All rights reserved.

Photo Copyright © 2013 by Kim Sweeting, Author of “Unwalled” Blog, All rights reserved.

“Who am I” Copyright © 2010 by Kim Sweeting, Author of “Unwalled” Blog, All rights reserved.

2 thoughts on “BEWARE OF PRIDE

  1. Hey Joseyphina……what a surprise!!! Thank you!! I will check it out and congratulations on your nomination for the award!…blessings!….Kim

Comments are closed.