POWERFUL HYMNS – PART 1

POWERFUL HYMNS – PART 1

ANCIENT HYMNS STILL MINISTER TO MY SPIRIT AND SOUL

ANCIENT HYMNS STILL MINISTER TO MY SPIRIT AND SOUL

 

I believe that although written centuries ago, many hymns still minister powerfully to people today because they were birthed by the Spirit of God in the hearts of men and women who were in relationship with God; who did not just know of God, but who knew God in a personal way.

 

As a child and throughout most of my teen years I attended a Methodist Church where we sung hymns at every worship service.

Back then I really did not like hymns too much. To me they were songs that were far to long and that had far to many strange words that I did not fully understand; I preferred the choruses we sung in Sunday School and Junior Church.

But having lived long enough to experience some of the vicissitudes of life and grow in my faith in Christ, not only do I like hymns, but have a great appreciation and deep respect for them, especially now that I understand the meaning of their words and have received strength in my spirit, joy in my heart and peace in my mind many times as a result of listening to and singing them.

This morning I began thinking about some of the hymns that I sung in those services at the Methodist Church and thought I’d share some of my favorite ones in the next few posts.

Take a listen, and not only to the tunes, but more importantly listen to the words.

May your heart be warmed, your spirit strengthened and your soul blessed!

Kim

 

“AND CAN IT BE” – CHARLES WESLEY – 1738

 

 

“ALL HAIL THE POWER OF JESUS NAME” – EDWARD PERRONET – 1779

 

 

“WILL YOUR ANCHOR HOLD” – PRISCILLA JANE OWENS – 1882 

 

 

“And when they had sung a hymn, they went out to the Mount of Olives.”

(Matthew 26:30, Mark 14:26 – Amplified Bible)

“Let the word [spoken by] Christ (the Messiah) have its home [in your hearts and minds] and dwell in you in [all its] richness, as you teach and admonish and train one another in all insight and intelligence and wisdom [in spiritual things, and as you sing] psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, making melody to God with [His] grace in your hearts.”

(Colossians 3:16 – Amplified Bible)

“Speak out to one another in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, offering praise with voices and instruments] and making melody with all your heart to the Lord,”

(Ephesians 5:19 – Amplified Bible)

 

Copyright © 2013 by Kim Sweeting, Author of “Unwalled” Blog, All rights reserved.

Image “Organ Pipes” by Simon Howden courtesy of http://www.FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Video “AND CAN IT BE” by Charles Wesley courtesy of fabioramsay – http://www.youtube.com

Video “ALL HAIL THE POWER OF JESUS NAME” courtesy of mrkariobangi – http://www.youtube.com

 Video “WILL YOUR ANCHOR HOLD” courtesy of THENBA – http://www.youtube.com

4 thoughts on “POWERFUL HYMNS – PART 1

  1. I grew up singing hymns exclusively at church, but our church now doesn’t sing any (except contemporary versions of them). I tend to think that there is a place for both, although these days I do prefer more modern versions.

  2. We rarely sing hymns at the current place of worship I attend, but if we do it is usually a traditional version…….I believe there is a place for both too and because of the words, I find both versions a blessing to my soul and a boost to my spirit.

  3. Thank you for citing my post as a related article…..your post was very informative, challenging and encouraging…God bless

Comments are closed.