FOLLOWING CHRIST IS NO CAKEWALK BUT KEEP PRESSING!

FOLLOWING CHRIST IS NO CAKEWALK BUT KEEP PRESSING

 

IT'S HARD SOMETIMES BUT PRESS ON AND DONT GIVE UP

IT’S HARD SOMETIMES BUT PRESS ON, AND DON’T GIVE UP

 

This morning I woke up with Philippians 3:14 on my mind and Marvia Providence’s song “Pressing On” in my spirit.

Philippians 4:13 states, the Apostle Paul speaking, “I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.” (KJV)

The NLT puts it this way, “I press on to reach the end of the race and receive the heavenly prize for which God, through Christ Jesus, is calling us.”

The word for today is –

FOLLOWING CHRIST IS NO CAKEWALK BUT KEEP PRESSING!

The Apostle Paul was a man who suffered much persecution and endured much hardship in his walk with Christ.

In 2 Corinthians 11:24-29 he states, “Five times I received from the Jews the forty lashes minus one. Three times I was beaten with rods, once I was pelted with stones, three times I was shipwrecked, I spent a night and a day in the open sea, I have been constantly on the move. I have been in danger from rivers, in danger from bandits, in danger from my fellow Jews, in danger from Gentiles; in danger in the city, in danger in the country, in danger at sea; and in danger from false believers. I have labored and toiled and have often gone without sleep; I have known hunger and thirst and have often gone without food; I have been cold and naked. Besides everything else, I face daily the pressure of my concern for all the churches. Who is weak, and I do not feel weak? Who is led into sin, and I do not inwardly burn?” (NIV)

Did these experiences deter him from following Christ?

Absolutely not.

No matter what he had to deal with or endure, the Apostle Paul determined to press on to reach the end of his race and receive his heavenly prize for his calling of God in Christ Jesus.

Notice that in Philippians 3:14, he said “I press toward”.

He did not say I go toward or I move toward, he said “I Press toward”, in other words I make a focused effort toward, I push toward, I act on with steady force toward, or in other words I pursue, I contend.

FOLLOWING CHRIST IS NO CAKEWALK BUT KEEP PRESSING!

In II Timothy 3:12, the Apostle Paul told Timothy:-

“Yes, and all who desire to live godly in Christ Jesus will suffer persecution.” (NKJV)

Key focus – will suffer persecution, not may, but will.

In John 16:33, Jesus states:-

“These things I have spoken to you, that in Me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation; but be of good cheer, I have overcome the world.” (NKJV)

Key focus – will have tribulation, not may, but will.

In James 1:2-3, the Apostle James states:-

“My brethren, count it all joy when you fall into various trials, knowing that the testing of your faith produces patience.”

Key focus – when you fall into various trials, not if, when.

Unlike what many teach today, the scripture is clear that coming to Christ does not guarantee that everything in our lives will be smooth sailing and trouble-free so do not think it strange when you encounter fiery trials.

FOLLOWING CHRIST IS NO CAKEWALK BUT KEEP PRESSING!

“For I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worthy to be compared with the glory which shall be revealed in us.”

(Romans 8:18 – KJV)

“But may the God of all grace, who called us to His eternal glory by Christ Jesus, after you have suffered a while, perfect, establish, strengthen, and settle you. To Him be the glory and the dominion forever and ever. Amen.”

(1 Peter 5:10-11)

The word for today is  –

FOLLOWING CHRIST IS NO CAKEWALK BUT KEEP PRESSING!

“Pressing On” – by Marvia Providence

FOLLOWING CHRIST IS NO CAKEWALK BUT KEEP PRESSING!

Be encouraged!

Kim

Copyright © 2014 by Kim Sweeting, Author of “Unwalled” Blog, All rights reserved.

Image “Road Keep Going” by lamnee courtesy of  www.FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Video “PRESSING ON” by Marvia Providence courtesy of TheYouthInChrist – http://www.youtube.com

6 thoughts on “FOLLOWING CHRIST IS NO CAKEWALK BUT KEEP PRESSING!

  1. Hey Sister “T”….thanks girl!…..always good hearing from you and I thank God for being able to be a source of blessing in your life……blessings to you too…..:)

Leave a Reply

