DON’T WORRY – PRAY!

DON’T WORRY – PRAY!

DON'T WORRY - PRAY!

DON’T WORRY – PRAY!

This morning I woke up with Philippians 4:6-7 on my mind and I know exactly why.

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.  And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” – (NIV)

The Amplified Bible says it this way:

“Do not fret or have any anxiety about anything, but in every circumstance and in everything, by prayer and petition (definite requests), with thanksgiving, continue to make your wants known to God. 

And God’s peace [shall be yours, that tranquil state of a soul assured of its salvation through Christ, and so fearing nothing from God and being content with its earthly lot of whatever sort that is, that peace] which transcends all understanding shall garrison and mount guard over your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus.” – (Amplified Bible)

I am presently in the process of establishing and launching my life coaching practice and as with any other business, I have a myriad of decisions to make, compliances to meet and things to put in place.

Having been the “go to” person among my family, friends, peers, colleagues, superiors, and brother’s and sister’s in Christ for a listening empathic ear, clarity in a situation, advice or a different perspective on problems, and/or help in making decisions since my teen years, and doing it pro bono in spite of acquiring the professional qualifications and training in both counseling and life coaching along the way, I am finally moving into doing it professionally so it is quite a change.

In light of this, I know why I woke up this morning with Philippians 4:6-7 on my mind.

The Lord brought that scripture to my mind as a reminder to me not to allow the process of establishing my business to overwhelm me and place me in a state of worry or anxiety, but to instead pray about and trust Him each step of the way and thereby, maintain my peace.

As I write Matthew 6:25-27 which speaks about he futility of worrying comes to mind.

It states:-

“Therefore I tell you, stop being perpetually uneasy (anxious and worried) about your life, what you shall eat or what you shall drink; or about your body, what you shall put on. Is not life greater [in quality] than food, and the body [far above and more excellent] than clothing?

Look at the birds of the air; they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father keeps feeding them. Are you not worth much more than they?

And who of you by worrying and being anxious can add one unit of measure (cubit) to his stature or to the span of his life?” – (Amplified Bible)

Proverbs 3:5,6 also comes to mind.

It states:-

“Lean on, trust in, and be confident in the Lord with all your heart and mind and do not rely on your own insight or understanding.

In all your ways know, recognize, and acknowledge Him, and He will direct and make straight and plain your paths.” – (Amplified Bible)

This is a an excellent and wise strategy to use when dealing with matters ahead of us.

What is it that you face today that if allowed can turn into a source of worry and anxiety, or perhaps has already turned into a source of worry and anxiety?

My word to you is God’s Word to me.

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” – (NIV)

Selah!

As we move forward to deal with the various situations we face in our lives, by God’s grace, let’s be doers of this Word and not hearers only.

Let’s be careful not to worry and make sure that we pray about each step before us, trusting Him to led the way.

Agreed?

Great!

Be encouraged!

Kim

Copyright © 2014 by Kim Sweeting, Author of “Unwalled” Blog, All rights reserved.

Image “WORRIED CHARACTER MEANS ANXIOUS, FEARFUL OR CONCERNED”  by Stuart Miles courtesy of – http://www.freedigitalphotos.net

4 thoughts on “DON’T WORRY – PRAY!

  1. Thank you, Kim. This is just the encouragement I need. 🙂 Your post notification has been sitting with a lot of others in my inbox, so I’m glad I finally got around to reading it.

Leave a Reply

