NOTEWORTHY QUOTE 9

NOTEWORTHY QUOTE 9

 

"SELAH - PAUSE AND CALMLY THINK OF THAT"

“SELAH – PAUSE AND CALMLY THINK OF THAT”

 

From time-to-time I like to post quotes that I view as noteworthy.

The following is a statement quoted from Parker J. Palmer found on page 49 of Chapter 3 of his book, “Let Your Life Speak….Listening For The Voice of Vocation”.

 

“One sign I am violating my own nature in the name of nobility is a condition called burnout. Though usually regarded  as the result of trying to give too much, burnout in my experience results from trying to give what I do not possess – the ultimate in giving too little! Burnout is a sense of emptiness to be sure, but it does not result from giving all I have: it merely reveals the nothingness from which I was trying to give in the first place.”

 

Source: Palmer, Parker J. Let Your Life Speak….Listening For The Voice of Vocation. San Francisco, California, John Wiley & Sons, 2000

 

“Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.”

(Matthew 11:28-30 – The Message Bible)

SELAH!

 

Copyright © 2014 by Kim Sweeting, Author of “Unwalled” Blog, All rights reserved.

Image “Figure Thinking with Thought Bubble” by Master Isolated Images courtesy of http://www.FreeDigitalPhotos.net

 

