DO YOU LOVE THE LORD?

DO YOU LOVE THE LORD?

 

“I LOVE YOU LORD” – MARANATHA SINGERS

 

DO YOU LOVE THE LORD?

Of course I love the Lord!

What do you mean if I love the Lord?

What kind of question is that?

I’m a Christian right!

But wait, before you answer or comment, there is a  question that needs to be answered first – What does it mean to love the Lord?

Does it mean to have a warm affectionate connected feeling toward the Lord?

Does it mean to sing with your whole heart songs about loving the Lord?

Does it mean to verbally say “Lord I love you”?

Check out the below scriptures and see what Jesus had to say on this matter.

 

“If ye love me, keep my commandments.”

(John 14:15 – KJV)

“If you [really] love Me, you will keep (obey) My commands.”

(John 14:15 – Amplified Bible)

__________

“He that hath my commandments, and keepeth them, he it is that loveth me: and he that loveth me shall be loved of my Father, and I will love him, and will manifest myself to him.”

(John 14:21 – KJV)

The person who has My commands and keeps them is the one who [really] loves Me; and whoever [really] loves Me will be loved by My Father, and I [too] will love him and will show (reveal, manifest) Myself to him. [I will let Myself be clearly seen by him and make Myself real to him.]

(John 14:21 – Amplified Bible)

__________

“Jesus answered and said unto him, If a man love me, he will keep my words: and my Father will love him, and we will come unto him, and make our abode with him.

He that loveth me not keepeth not my sayings: and the word which ye hear is not mine, but the Father’s which sent me.”

(John 14:23-24 – KJV)

“Jesus answered, If a person [really] loves Me, he will keep My word [obey My teaching]; and My Father will love him, and We will come to him and make Our home (abode, special dwelling place) with him.
Anyone who does not [really] love Me does not observe and obey My teaching. And the teaching which you hear and heed is not Mine, but [comes] from the Father Who sent Me.”

(John 14:23-24 – KJV)

__________

The scripture is clear that the Lord’s gauge of our love for Him is our obedience to Him.

From Jesus’s perspective, the way that we show that we love Him is by obeying His teachings and His commandments.

The word “love” in each of these scripture verses is the Greek word “agapao” which Strong’s Concordance tells us is to love in a social or moral sense, embracing especially the judgment and deliberate assent of the will as a matter of principle, duty and propriety; in other words; it’s chiefly a love of the head with corresponding willful actions and not of the heart or feelings and affections. (Source – Strong’s Concordance on E-Sword)

The Lord measures our love for Him by our obedience to Him, not by our being a friend to, fond of, having and/or expressing affection for or sentimental personal attachment to Him.

That is another kind of love, which Strong’s concordance tells us is “phileo” love and the love God desires, the “agapao” love is much more than that.

So now that you know how the Lord assess our love for Him, again I ask,  DO YOU LOVE THE LORD?

Do you choose to obey His teachings and commands or do you choose to live life as you please, doing what you want to do, making your own decisions and just have emotional attachment and “warm fuzzy feelings” toward Him and sing love songs to Him?

When we obey the commands and teachings of the Lord, He considers that as love for Him.

“For this is the love of God, that we keep his commandments: and his commandments are not grievous.”

(I John 5:3 – KJV)

“For the [true] love of God is this: that we do His commands [keep His ordinances and are mindful of His precepts and teaching]. And these orders of His are not irksome (burdensome, oppressive, or grievous).”

(I John 5:3 – Amplified Bible)

SELAH!

DO YOU LOVE THE LORD?

In John 21:15-17, Jesus asked Peter 3 times if he loved Him, and each after time Peter told the Lord yes, he loved Him, Jesus said “then” and gave Peter a command….”then feed my lambs”, “then feed my sheep”, “then feed my sheep”.

In essence, Jesus was saying to Peter, if you love me, then keep my command to you.

What has the Lord been commanding you to do over the past few years?

What has the Lord been commanding you to do over the past few months?

What has the Lord been commanding you to do over the past few weeks?

What has the Lord been commanding you to do over the past few days?

What is the Lord commanding you to do today?

Are you going to obey Him and thereby prove your love for Him on His terms, the love that He really desires and that pleases Him, or disobey Him and show “love” on your terms, with lip service and emotional endearment?

If you love Him, I challenge you to show it to Him by keeping His written and spoken commandments to you.

DO YOU LOVE THE LORD?

Lord give us the willingness and grace to walk in obedience to what you tell us to do and thereby show our love for you. 

SELAH!

Kim

Copyright © 2015 by Kim Sweeting, Author of “Unwalled” Blog, All rights reserved.

“I LOVE YOU LORD” by Maranatha, courtesy of Maranatha00 –  http://www.youtube.com

