UNWALLED POETRY – THE STORY BEHIND THE BOOK

UNWALLED POETRY – THE STORY BEHIND THE BOOK

 

On several occasions over the past few weeks, I’ve been asked,

“So, how did Unwalled Poetry come about; what’s the story behind the book?”

so here it is in a nutshell.

From around 2002 or so, poems began to spontaneously drop into my spirit.

I’d be asleep at night and awakened in the wee hours of the morning with a poem and write it in my spiritual journal that I kept by my bedside.

As time passed, the poems not only came at night but began to show up anytime and anywhere so I would have to quickly find something to write them on. 

When I started “Unwalled” in February of 2010, to vary the blog’s content, I occasionally posted some of the poems. I also shared some via email.

This went on for the next few years, then in January of 2014, the Lord instructed me to compile the poems in a manuscript and have them published in a book. He also gave me the name of the book and the devotional format at that time.

I wish I could say that I promptly and joyfully obeyed, but that was not the case; I confess that internally, I resisted.

I resisted “reasoning” that the poems were already available online and blessing lives so why do a book…

that poetry books usually do not sell well so why publish a book that people are not likely to buy to read instead of publishing another that they more likely will…

that to compile the poems would be very time-consuming and a lot of my time was already tied up with the assignment of establishing my life coaching practice…

However, in spite of the fight that my carnal mind put up, my spirit prevailed and later that year, I began to compile the poems and draft the manuscript, doing a little here and there between everything else.

When 2015 rolled around, I continued to peck at the task, not really giving it the focused attention that I should have.

This continued until May of 2016 when I became ill and had to take a long break from everything.

During that time, while meditating one day, the Lord reminded me of His instruction to compile the poems and publish the book and rebuked me for the lackadaisical attitude I’d displayed toward it…His directive was to “get it done!”

Needless to say, I repented, asked His forgiveness, and as soon as I was well enough, I made every effort to do just that.

In early December of 2016, I finished the manuscript of 101 poems. 

That Christmas Day, I submitted it to Christian Living Books, a publishing company in Bowie Maryland, USA, that I’d heard good reviews about.

On New Year’s Eve, I received notification of its acceptance and received a publishing contract from the company’s President, Mrs. Kimberley Stewart.

Less than three months later in March 2017, the book, Unwalled Poetry, was published in both electronic and paperback formats…God is good…\0/.

Unwalled poetry is not a result of something I set out to produce.

It is the result of obedience to a God-given directive to take spontaneously inspired poems, compile them in a manuscript and have them published with a specific title and devotional format.

It is of Him…I am simply the vessel it came through.

So in a nutshell, that’s the story behind Unwalled Poetry – A Different Devotional Experience.

The book is available online everywhere in both paperback and e-book formats, and locally in the Bahamas at The Bible Book & Gift Center – Palmdale Shopping Plaza, The Hallmark Store – The Mall at Marathon, and Logos Bookstore – Harbour Bay Shopping Center, East Bay Street, or from me personally.

I invite you to buy and read a copy…it will give you a different devotional experience and your spiritual life will never be the same!

Peace & Blessings,

Kim

https://www.amazon.com/author/kimsweeting

Copyright © 2017 by Kim Sweeting, Author of “Unwalled” Blog, All rights reserved.

Images copyright © 2017 Christian Living Books, http://christianlivingbooks.com

